SJ_LogoPeter D’Angelo, Chair, Board of Trustees;
Very Rev. Michael Carroll, C.M., Vice Chair, Board of Trustees;

Co-Chair, Presidential Search Committee
Update on St. John’s University’s Presidential Search

Tuesday, October 8, 2013

The Board of Trustees is pleased to inform you that we have completed the essential first steps toward recruiting a new President of St. John’s University and are formally launching our national search for outstanding candidates at this time.

We began to lay the foundation for the search this past summer after Rev. Joseph L. Levesque, C.M., who had recently retired as President of Niagara University, agreed to serve as Interim President. We are grateful for his leadership and the important role he is undertaking at a critical time for St. John’s.

Since then, as part of a carefully designed process to ensure an exemplary pool of religious and lay candidates for the post, the Board has appointed a Presidential Search Committee. Its members represent the many constituents of the University community—board members, faculty, alumni, administrators and students. We encourage you to share your input with them. They are listed below and on this web page,, part of a Presidential Search website we will use to share updates throughout the process.

We also have retained the services of R. William Funk & Associates, a leading higher education consulting firm, to help conduct the search. The Chronicle of Higher Education has cited Mr. Funk, the firm’s founder, as an expert in the field. He has helped recruit presidents and chancellors for institutions such as Cornell, Georgia Tech, Rutgers, the University of Miami, the University of San Diego, the University of Southern California and the University of Virginia.

Our effort will identify candidates with the vision and experience to lead our community in today’s dynamic higher education landscape, while embodying the Catholic faith and Vincentian heritage that have guided this institution for more than 140 years. St. John’s has grown significantly in the last two decades, with a positive impact on tens of thousands of people across our city, state, nation and world. Most importantly, as stewards of St. Vincent de Paul, we remain true to our mission: respecting each human individual, serving those in need and promoting social justice.

Over the coming weeks, we will gather input from faculty, students, employees and alumni on the characteristics that are essential for our next President. We welcome your suggestions as we search for the very best candidates to assume this vital leadership role.

This is a challenging yet rewarding task, and we appreciate your contributions. If you would like to nominate a candidate or offer comments on the search, please visit our website at You may also forward nominations directly to Mr. Funk at

Thank you for your help and support as we build the future of this great University.

Presidential Search Committee

Peter P. D’Angelo, Co-Chair, Presidential Search Committee
Chair, Board of Trustees, St. John’s University
President, Caxton Alternative Management, LP

Very Rev. Michael J. Carroll, C.M., Co-Chair, Presidential Search Committee
Vice Chair, Board of Trustees, St. John’s University
Provincial Superior, Eastern Province of the Congregation of the Mission

Rev. Joseph Levesque, C.M.
President, St. John’s University

Rev. Elmer Bauer III, C.M.
Trustee, St. John’s University
Provincial Treasurer, Eastern Province of the Congregation of the Mission

Linda Chin, Esq.
Associate Professor; Department of Criminal Justice and Legal Studies, College of Professional Studies

William Collins
Trustee, St. John’s University
CEO and Chief Investment Officer, Brencourt Advisors, LLC

Nick Davatzes
Trustee Emeritus, St. John’s University
CEO Emeritus, A&E Television Networks

Rev. Patrick Flanagan, C.M.
Assistant Professor,
Department of Theology and Religious Studies, St. John’s College of Liberal Arts and Sciences;
Religious Superior, Rev. John B. Murray C.M. House

Martha K. Hirst
Executive Vice President, Chief Operating Officer and Treasurer, St. John’s University

Robert A. Mangione, Ed.D., R.Ph.
Provost, St. John’s University

Teresa Mason, Esq.
Trustee, St. John’s University
Vice President for Health Policy, Novartis Pharmaceuticals Corporation

Rene S. Parmar, Ph.D.
Professor; Chairperson of the Department of Administration and Instructional Leadership,
The School of Education

Elizabeth Sheehan
President of Student Government

Mary Harper Hagan, Liaison to Search Committee Co-Chairs, Non-Voting Member; Senior Vice President for Human Resources and Strategic Planning, St. John’s University